About us

Carbiotix is an award-winning biotechnology company pioneering microbiome healthcare through a portfolio of prebiotic modulators, upcycling services, and diagnostic testing services.

We are a company that is focused on continually innovating and improving our prebiotic products, how we deliver them to market, and how we verify their efficacy. In doing so, we are dedicated to delivering as much value as possible to our customers, partners, and other stakeholders.

Carbiotix’s mission is to increase the consumption of prebiotics in people’s diets by:

Low cost and most effective prebiotics

Manufacturing and sourcing the most effective and complementary prebiotics possible.

Selling prebiotics through many forms and channels

Selling and supporting the use of these prebiotics through as many forms and channels as possible.

Low cost consumer microbiome test

Providing the most affordable, reliable and flexible testing service to validate the effect of prebiotics.


  • 2014

    Carbiotix was founded in 2014 based on four years of research at the Department of Biotechnology at Lund University and the Antidiabetic Food Centre (AFC) in Lund, Sweden.

  • 2015

    In 2015, the company’s second-generation soluble fiber CarbiAXOS was selected as a top new ingredient by the Nutrition Capital Network in both Europe and the U.S.

  • 2016

    In 2016, the company continued with the commercialisation of CarbiAXOS working in collaboration with industry leading partners across the supply chain.

  • 2017

    In 2017, Carbiotix began development of its low-cost microbiome testing platform. The mission was to deliver an affordable low-cost microbiome test to consumers without cutting corners on quality.

  • 2018

    In 2018, Carbiotix launched the LinkGut platform where customers could gain an accurate and informative overview of their gut health. During 2018, Carbiotix also commenced a 300-person gut health study to validate the LinkGut platform and a strategy to explore medical foods and therapeutics across multiple disease areas.

  • 2019

    In 2019, the company began to leverage data from its low-cost microbiome testing platform to ramp up modulator development activities. These activities were in line with its long-term strategy to create microbiome modulators based on its proprietary soluble CarbiAXOS fiber, isolated strains, and novel delivery mechanisms.

  • 2020

    In 2020, the Carbiotix laid out its strategy regarding modulators, with an initial focus on bringing to market CarbiAXOS. Carbiotix also communicated that it will focus on business to business services within the microbiome diagnostics area as a means to build relationships with modulator customers and advocates.

  • 2021

    At the beginning of 2021, the company shifted its LinkGut service to solely an API service. This would allow the company to move away from data interpretation and focus on the logistics of offering a compelling microbiome test that is cost effective, reliable and flexible.

  • 2022

    In June of 2022, Carbiotix opened it's first CarbiAXOS production site in Bjuv, Sweden.

  • 2023

    Carbiotix develops news CarbiAXOS process that doubles yields, signs collaboration agreements with leading functional food and probiotics companies, doubles number of LinkGut customers, reports promising results from CarbiAXOS Metformin study, achieves regulatory approval for CarbiAXOS cosmetic ingredient and completes phase one of production site upgrade.

  • 2024

    Carbiotix receives GRAS regulatory approval for CarbiAXOS, achieves IVDR and CE marked status for LinkGut testing kit, launches NutraCycle upcycling service for plant-based food and beverage manufacturers, receives first clinical and animal related LinkGut orders, and rebrands CarbiAXOS to Carbersol.

Board of Directors

Kristofer Cook, Chairperson

Geir Harstad

Jörgen Kamph

Dr. Gustav Wendel. M.D

Christian Månsson


Erik Deaner, CEO

Kristofer Cook, CBDO

Henrik Ljung, CFO

Dr. Richard A. Rosenbloom, CMO

Martin Erlandsson, CIO

Stephen Bromley, CSO & CTO

Advisory Board

Professor Eva Nordberg Karlsson, Ph.D

Professor Patrick Adlercreutz, Ph.D

Dr. Jan Marsal, M.D, Ph.D